Books and stuff…

Posted: January 9, 2011 in Books

Well…since I’m a relatively avid reader (and am finally able to get new books thanks to my Kindle) I think that one of the things I’m going to try to do is recommend a book/series/author on a semi-regular basis.  Now anyone who knows me can tell you that most of what I read falls into the Sci-Fi and fantasy genres and as such most of the things I’m going to suggest probably fall into that category.  I’ll do my best to not give any spoilers but I can’t promise to be 100% on with that.

Now despite that genre pre-amble, I’m actually going to recommend a novel that  falls into contemporary fiction.  The book is called Room: A Novel by Emma Donoghue and the premise is a young woman has been abducted and imprisoned for a number of years during which she has a child.  The story – which is told from the child’s point of view – is a very compelling description of the end of their captivity and the subsequent integration into modern life.   It’s a very interesting view of the world and adjusting when the world goes from a single room to the entirety of existence in the blink of an eye.

Comments
  1. Just finished it. I read it in 2 days. Amazing. Keep the book recommendations coming!

  2. brassnet says:

    Glad you enjoyed it. It’s a very compelling story.

Leave a Reply

