Weekend Recipe – Pancakes

Posted: February 25, 2011 in Food
Tags: , ,

Continuing what I started last weekend, today I’m going to give you one of my favorite recipes: Pancakes.  It’s easier and cheaper – and better – than any store bought mix and worth the effort.  You can make the batter ahead of time (like the night before) and enjoy later.  I usually make them when it’s my turn to get up with the kids on Saturday.  The kids help me make the batter and then we stick it in the fridge until my wife wakes up…  The recipe I’m going to give is what I would make for myself – when I make for the family I just triple the recipe and it makes enough (maybe on left over at the end).

Ingredients

  • 1 Egg
  • 1/2 cup Flour
  • 1/2 cup Milk
  • 1 pinch (about 1/8 tsp) Salt
  • 1/4 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/4 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp Vegetable Oil/Butter (softened)/Margarine(softened)

Instructions

Whip the eggs – either by hand with a whisk or (what I usually do) with the whisk attachment on a blender stick until fluffy.

Add in the rest of the ingredients and whisk until a smooth batter is formed.  The batter should be thick enough so if you put a spoon of it on a flat surface, it will be about 1mm thick.

If you want to make flavored pancakes (i.e. blueberry, chocolate chip, etc.) this in when you fold it in.

Let it rest in the refrigerator at least 15 minutes.

Heat up your frying surface with nothing in it – it needs to get hot otherwise they stick.  When it’s hot pour a little of the batter and lower the flame to a medium heat.  When the edges have dried and the bubbles that pop are not re-covered in batter, it’s time to flip them.  If they are too dark – lower the heat, if not dark enough raise it a bit.  This takes trial and error and the first batch may come out all different shades.  When I got a new stove it took me 3 batches to figure out what the right heat was (and I still mess up the first one!!!)

Put them on a plate one on top of another – the top one that just came out of the pan will help keep the other ones warm.

Serve with butter and your favorite pancake toppings.

Comments

If you want to make crepes you can use this recipe without the baking powder – just make it a drop thinner.  Take the time to get to know your stove – I use the smallest of my burners and have it almost all the way down and I do them one at a time (or I use the big burner all the way down and use a griddle pan and do 6-8 silver dollar pancakes) but when I heat up the pan I use it on full – if the pan isn’t hot enough they will stick!  I like to cut in fresh strawberries when they’re in season – it’s a yummy add on.

Comments
  1. Hi,
    You don’t oil the pan at all?

    • brassnet says:

      Not one drop of oil. If I’m making crepes then I lightly butter the pan before the first one and that’s usually enough. Between the heat of the pan and the fat in the batter no oil is needed.

      • Mark says:

        I make pancakes every few Sundays for breakfast. What I usually do is preheat the pan as you mention, but I also fold a paper towel, lightly oil it and wipe a tiny bit of oil on the pan with the paper towel before adding batter. That way there is rarely any sticking at all.

      • brassnet says:

        I’ve never had sticking problems and I don’t use any oil…

Leave a Reply

