Gingerbread is sweet

Posted: March 1, 2011 in computers
Tags: , ,

Well, I’ve had Gingerbread (Android 2.3.3 for those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about) on my Nexus One for the better part of a week now and I have to say that, overall, I’m very happy!  I’ve found it to be smoother, faster and less draining on my battery.  Here’s the breakdown.

The Good

It seems that the issue of it dropping off WPA encrypted WiFi access points was a bug that they resolved since I’m no longer seeing it.  It was extremely annoying to pick the phone up in the morning and see that it had dropped off the network – but that hasn’t happened even once since I installed the update.

The new notification bar did take a bit of getting used to – and I’m still not sure what it means when the connection icon is green or grey.  I like the smaller icons – I’m seeing the “more notifications” icon much less.

The battery life has improved to the point where I don’t think that on a normal day in the office I’ll need to plug it in at all.  I unplugged it this morning at 7:30 and 9 hours later I’m still at 77% with push mail, TweetDeck and a few other things running consistently in the background.

I have not seen any software broken by this update – that doesn’t mean there isn’t any, I just haven’t seen it yet.  The only thing that was “bent” was the launcher app I use – Launcher Pro (highly recommended) – was having problems with one setting on the app drawer – changed the setting and it was great.  In addition, my control widgets (by Widgetsoid) are now working much better.

The phone is running much smoother and – as of yet – I haven’t had the unlock screen freeze on me even once (when it would happen multiple times in the average day running FroYo).  Apps seem to run faster and, over all I find it to be much more responsive.

The Bad

I’ll be honest, I don’t have much to put here.  I have some features that I’d like to see Google put in but nothing major.  The only problem I really have has nothing to do with Gingerbread but with Google in general.  I understand that there are some apps that Google feels are necessary to put on the phone and that we can’t get rid of them, however I don’t think Twitter and Facebook should be among them.  The other thing is we should be able to mark these apps as never update in the market – I don’t want to waste storage on my phone (the only real drawback I’ve found on the hardware side) and I can’t get rid of them and every day I get an “updates available” notification for one of them.

The Wrap-up

As I said, I think this is a great version – if I wanted to I’m sure I could (and probably will in the future) find some nits to pick but I am very happy.  Good job Google and next time – give us the freedom to delete Twitter and Facebook!

Leave a Reply

