Wake Up Google

Posted: March 5, 2011 in computers
Tags: , , ,

 

While I know and appreciate that there are certain apps for Android that should only be released in certain countries, I find it hard to believe that Google feels that it’s own basic apps should be among them. As someone who lives in Israel, an app that helps me find the best pizza in New York does not appeal to me. A current version of Google Maps, GMail and the other Google apps for Android most certainly does.

On a recent trip to the US I was pleasantly surprised to see almost all of the Google apps on my phone that I couldn’t update at home – I think there were four – update almost as soon as I got off the plane.   While I’m not complaining about the update, I will say that it doesn’t make sense.  I’m using the same Google account (the same one in fact that on the Web based market shows “no device found”) and the same phone but because I landed in the US and was there for 15 minutes, now I had full access to these apps.

Dear Google – I am and Android early adopter.  I live on the bleeding edge.  I try everything I can for my Nexus One.  Don’t make me wait until I go abroad to be able to get the updates I want!  Please – be kind to the Android lovers around the world.  Don’t limit app availability for the basic Google Mobile apps and exclude us.

 

Leave a Reply

