The iDigital store is not the Apple Store

Posted: March 20, 2011 in computers
Tags: , , , ,

I went to the iDigital store today to get my iPod touch repaired.  I’ve had it about 7 months, most of the time it has spent in my pocket, in my hand, or next to the computer recharging.  For some reason, the seal on the screen was not made properly and some shmutz got under the glass (take a look at the picture to see what I’m getting at) and when I took it in to the genius bar I was told this is “unreasonable use”.  I’ve had experiences with the Apple stores in the US and I have friends who have had experience both here in Israel and in the US.  I gotta tell you – it’s not the same.  I don’t know whether the fault lies with Apple for giving so much latitude to its own employees or for not giving enough latitude to franchisees.  I am reasonably certain that, were I to have gone into a US Apple store, my iPod would have been replaced on the spot.  Here in Israel I’m told that I used it improperly and I can purchase a replacement – or have them send it to Apple who can make a final determination.  Apple got to where it is because of the high level of customer support and service that it gives to it’s customers.  There is no other major reason to pay such a high premium for Apple products over comparable equipment made by competitors – whether in the computer or consumer electronics fields – other than the support.  This is making me thing that the answer to the poll question I posted the other day might actually be – get a Dell.

 

Leave a Reply

