OK. It’s Passover – but where’s my bread???

Posted: April 11, 2011 in Food
Tags: , , , ,

This is the one time of year where I really hate living in Israel.  I understand that the large majority of the population is Jewish.  I understand that a fair percentage of that population keeps kosher for Passover.  But not everyone does.  I don’t understand why the sale of products that aren’t kosher for Passover are outlawed.  Shouldn’t I – as an adult – be able to buy a beer if I want?  The other 358 days of the year I can – but for this week, it’s illegal to sell one.  If I want bread, well I guess I’d better bake it myself – that’s the only way I’m really going to be able to find it.  I can understand the major supermarkets – which only sell kosher products – making the transition.  But the ones that don’t keep kosher still have to take the products off the shelf.

In this modern day of choice and freedom – why is such a basic choice – like what to eat – being regulated by the government?  I’m not saying I’m going to eat that bread (OK. I probably will but that’s besides the point.) but why, if I want to go to a non-kosher restaurant and order a BLT do I have to get it on Matzo?  It’s time to go to the supermarket and stock up on cereal, bread and flour – because next week there’ll be none to be found.

Leave a Reply

